Fifteenth meeting of the IRENA Council

From 8 to 9 May 2018, IRENA held its fifteenth Council in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

The IRENA Council is composed of 21 Member States elected for a two-year term and is accountable to the Assembly. Council members serve on a rotating basis to ensure the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and a fair and equitable geographical distribution. The Council's responsibilities include facilitating consultation and cooperation among IRENA Members and reviewing the draft work programme, draft budget and annual report.

IRENA's Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2018:

Argentina, China, Colombia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Ghana, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, Niger, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, and Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh, Dominican Republic, Germany, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Sudan, Turkey, and Uruguay will act as alternates.

Photos from the event can be found on Flickr.