Kuwait, Sri Lanka, Sudan, and Uzbekistan join IRENA


IRENA welcomes Member No. 101-104 on 19 June 2009

Signing Kuwait Signing Sri Lanka

 Signing Sudan Signing_Usbekistan

Source: Team/AA

This afternoon, four more States joined IRENA. On behalf of the State of Kuwait, the Ambassador of Kuwait in Germany, H.E. Abdulhamid Abdullah M.H. Al-Awadhi, signed the Statute. IRENA´s Founding Treaty was also signed by H.E. Tikiribandara Maduwegedera, Ambassador of the Democratic Social Republic of Sri Lanka in Germany. In addition, the Ambassador of the Republic of the Sudan in Germany, H.E. Baha Aldin Hanafi Mansour Waheesh, and the Ambassador of the Republic of Uzbekistan in Germany, H.E. Bakhtiyar Gulyamov, also signed the Statute of IRENA. Mr. Thomas Meister, Head of Division for International Energy Policy at the German Federal Foreign Office, was present for the signings. IRENA now has 104 Signatories and even more States are expected to sign in the near future.